I’ve been spending a lot of time lately by procrastinating. EPQ? Who cares? Writing? What’s that? I have spent hours pinning fantasy inspiration pictures and prompts on Pinterest (you can find here) and I haven’t written a word. Writing prompts just don’t do it for me. So I’ve come up with my own method of inspiring myself to write: a dictionary.

All you need to do is open it at a random page, close your eyes, and stab viciously at a word with a pointy utensil (finger, letter opener, pencil, dagger). Then write as many sentences as you can either starting or ending with that word. I try to aim for around twelve.

And because I’m such a lovely person, I’m doing an example one.

Now I don’t actually have a dictionary, so instead I’m using the complete works of F. Scott Fitzgerald.

My word is ‘reverence’ which is a horrible word, but I’ll do my best.

Here goes!

1) Reverence is the only thing that can save you now.
2) In all his dreams of her, in every thought, only one thing was constant. The reverence which filled his soul.
3) Her name, she explained with a languid wave of her hand, was Reverence.
4) There are few problems in this world which cannot be solved with a certain amount of reverence to the right god.
5) “Your Reverence,” he began, bowing low before the dark throne, “We await your judgment.”
6) Her eyes widened and her lips parted in a soft gasp, reverence and awe filling her every feature as she saw the sun rise for the first time.
7) One hand reached up to caress the arch of her cheek in the mirror, eyes filling with reverence as she met solid flesh.
8) Reverence. Above all you must revere me. Fear me above the violent summer rains, and above the unyielding winter storms. I am your king and I will have your respect.
9) Do not suffer a witch to live. So said the law. And you shall not hold in reverence any person who claims to have the power.
10) No amount of reverence could have prepared them for this.
11) Worship is all well and good, but there comes a time where reverence must be replaced by action.
12) It wasn’t as though they had been planning on burning the temple, but the eternal reverence had been getting on their nerves and something had to give.

