So I’m currently writing a review for The Children of Húrin, and I’m very easily bored, so I’ve been flicking through my notebook. This starts all the way back at a review for Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, and continues all the way up to my first attempt at writing For One Moment, which is what I’m posting about today. The title, obviously, is because it’s written within a single moment, in three tenses, with only my train of thoughts as it happens in the present tense. It doesn’t make much sense, using three tenses in the first person, addressed to ‘you’, but at the same time it kind of works. Some parts are (I confess) slightly exaggerated and expanded upon from the reality, but the majority is written down as it happened. Some parts of what happened have been missed out, either because they didn’t fit, or because they were only relevant with more back-story than I cared to include. I haven’t, for example, included the part where the girls in my room threatened to set me up with him. There were, as I recall, some remarks about ‘could be hot’ if not for the ‘resting bitch face’ and without context, it wouldn’t have worked. I did actually write it out, but, as with so many things, it didn’t make it into the final draft.  Another thing which wasn’t included was my rather detailed explanation as to why I wanted to use a sonnet for my poem. The conversation went as follows:

I read the first two lines aloud.

“It sounds like a love poem. Are you sure there isn’t something you’re not telling us?”

Heavy sighs.

“That’s kind of the point. Not only am I using the form of a sonnet for my poem, I’m also quoting from one of the most famous love poems of all time. It’s meant to be ironic.”

Blank stares. My room-mates were not, it would appear, English Lit aficionados.

“You know—because it’s not a love poem.”

More blank stares. I decide to just get on with it and read it once it’s finished.

Yeah. That needed to be in future tense, and I couldn’t get it to work in any way, shape or form, so I just left it out, and went straight to finishing it.

What have you had to leave out of your pieces of writing? Was there an opinion you had on a book which you just couldn’t fit into the review? A line in a poem which had to be abandoned? Maybe even a sly reference to something which you had to leave out of a blog post?

