I’m not surprised exactly about the results of the EU Referendum. I knew it was going to be close, I just can’t help but wish the vote had fallen the other way around. One thing I have decided though, is that I’m not going to let this change how I feel about the world. There’s no point in me just giving up and letting life continue around me. Yes, I wanted to remain, but we haven’t, and there’s nothing I can do about that. My brother doesn’t see this. He’s embarrassed about what he sees as being his loss, and he doesn’t want to face people at school who wanted to leave. He’s accused me of being emotionless, and of not caring, but it’s not that. The fact that I don’t wear my heart on my sleeve doesn’t mean that I don’t care. It just means that I’m better at hiding it. And I do care. But I also know that it doesn’t change me. I’m still European, and no vote can change how I feel about that. Borders come and go, but nationality is as much a state of mind as anything else. I won’t let this vote affect how I feel about myself.

