I was meant to be revising chemistry today, but I foolishly brought a notebook to school, which may have been a slight distraction. Basically I’ve written a book review and a rant today, so I submit them for the approval of the masses.

It’s adorable. I mean, it’s also funny, and fascinating, and meaningful, but you get some books that you read and just think: that’s adorable. And it really is, so that’s what I’ll start with. Colin is beyond sweet. I mean, he wants a eureka moment, which obviously I do as well, and I assume so do many others, but in a fictional character? Then it’s cute and sort of precious.

And it’s funny. I have, I think, learnt several new, interesting insults which I will never ever have the opportunity to use. The adorable-ness plays a part in the comedy, but then again, it plays a part in everything. Colin has this sweet, not-quite-there innocence, which lands him in awkward situations with occasionally hilarious outcomes. There is also the fact that he has dated nineteen girls name Katherine, which is funny in itself. Even funnier-in a very dry, droll way-is that he decides to develop a theorem to solve the aforementioned problem. No questions asked, it’s just: ‘I’m gonna do crazily complex maths to solve my dating problems’. This is not a quotation.

The reason I love it most of all, is because it’s true. It’s honest, and it’s meaningful, and it resonates. Because you can’t predict the future with maths. Because maybe story-telling isn’t just for entertainment. Because misremembering the past doesn’t make it wrong. We are all story-tellers, story-makers, but there is no such thing as a story-breaker. If-when we remember wrong, we aren’t lying, we aren’t hiding things, we are telling our own stories. We are telling the past as we remember it. We are shaping our futures with the pasts that we know.

And that, I think, is the meaning of this.

Eureka moments are shaped by our pasts, but they don’t have to define us as people, because they won’t necessarily be big. They won’t necessarily be world-changing. They are shaped by us, and they shape us, but they aren’t us. They are only a part of the story.

