Today my tutor group held a mildly successful quiz for eight teachers. The questions were meant to be written by the entire form, but as these things tend to happen, only seven people submitted questions. That isn’t the problem. The problem lies in the fact that someone in the (very small) audience, dared to question my expertise with regards to the hair colour of Legolas Thranduilion, as written in J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. The answer, coincidentally, is that his hair colour is never stated, so it was a mean question, but there was no need for the mutterings of:
“It’s blond. I know it’s blond. These people don’t know what they’re talking about.”
I do happen to know what I’m talking about, so I was understandable a little offended. His hair is blond only in the films, and that is because a decision was reached that he would have the same hair colour as his father, who is stated to have blond hair. However, as we do not know anything about his mother, we have no point of reference for what he may have inherited from her. Thus is my retort to those who would plot my downfall, even though they will never know about it!

On a side-note: I may have got a little loud and indignant, and my friends have stated that they will send me out of the hall if we ever happen to hold another one.

